Skip to main content
Compare10 min read

8 Best AI Citation Tracking Tools in 2026

The best AI citation tracking tool for a team that wants to see, every day, which pages ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode cite for its buyers’ questions, and which of those pages mention a competitor but not it, is Cituna: its Sources tab lists every cited page per engine and per prompt, from $39 a month. We build Cituna; every rival figure below is dated from that vendor’s own page.

Published

Cituna asks those seven engines your buyers’ questions daily, writes the fix for every answer you are missing from, and publishes new articles to your site. Other picks by need: Otterly.ai for a citations report on a small prompt list ($29 Lite); LLMrefs for citations across eleven engines on one weekly-refreshed fee ($79); Peec AI for cited domains sorted by type ($95 Starter); SE Ranking for cited domains and URLs per engine inside an SEO suite ($129 Core); Ahrefs Brand Radar for market-wide citation research ($199 per AI platform); Scrunch AI for citation and source tracking with Microsoft Copilot ($250 Core); and Profound for citation share by platform on an enterprise contract.

Disclosure:

Cituna is our product. Every rival figure below comes from that vendor’s own pricing, product or documentation page, with the date given beside it.

Mention tracking and citation tracking are different jobs

A mention is your brand named in the text of an answer. A citation is a page the engine points to as its source: a link, a numbered marker or a source card. Most AI visibility tools count mentions; fewer show you the cited pages themselves, and that list is what you act on, because each cited page is a page you can improve, get listed on or pitch. Our guide to mentions versus citations explains the difference in full, and our answer on which sources AI engines cite covers the patterns by engine.

For this page, a citation tracking tool must answer three questions for a prompt you choose:

  • Which domains and URLs did the answer cite? Not just a citation count.
  • On which engine? Perplexity and Google AI Overviews attach sources to nearly every answer; ChatGPT and Claude often answer from memory, so the per-engine view matters.
  • Who else is on those pages? A cited page that names your competitor and not you is the most direct opportunity a tracker can show.

How we chose these eight

  1. A dated source says the tool shows cited domains or URLs, not only a mention or citation count. Tools whose pages say only “citations” without naming a source or URL view (Rankscale, as read on October 9, 2026) are listed at the end instead.
  2. It tracks prompts you choose on a schedule, rather than a one-off free check.
  3. It publishes a price or a free trial, so you can test it without a sales call.
  4. Every figure is dated. Plans were read on the vendor’s pricing page between September 25 and October 9, 2026, as noted in each entry. Otterly.ai’s, Peec AI’s and Profound’s citation features were read on each vendor’s own product, documentation or blog page on October 13, 2026.

Cituna comes first because it is ours. The other seven follow by the monthly price of the cheapest plan that tracks your own prompts, billed monthly; for Ahrefs we use the Brand Radar index price, since Brand Radar is the product reviewed here. The order helps you find an entry point; it is not a score.

AI citation tracking tools compared

AI citation tracking tools: cited domains, cited URLs, per-engine view, entry plan and engines
ToolShows cited domainsShows cited URLsPer engineEntry plan, billed monthlyEngines on that plan
CitunaYesYesYes$39 Starter, 10 prompts daily7, all daily
Otterly.aiYesYesYes$29 Lite, 15 prompts daily4
LLMrefsYesNot statedNot stated$79, 500 prompts weekly11
Peec AIYesYesNot stated$95 Starter, 50 prompts3 you pick
SE RankingYesYesYes$129 Core, 100 prompts daily5
Ahrefs Brand RadarYesYesYes, priced per platform$199 per AI platform (Ahrefs Lite, $129, includes 5 tracked prompts a day)1 per $199
Scrunch AIYesNot statedNot stated$250 Core, 125 prompts4
ProfoundYesYesYesFree trial, then Enterprise3 on the trial

“Not stated” means the source we read did not say either way. Ask the vendor before you rely on it.

Each tool in detail

1. Cituna

Cituna’s Sources tab lists the pages the engines cited for your prompts, how often each was cited, which engines cited it and which competitors it was cited for. Cituna reads each cited page to check whether you are on it: linked, mentioned without a link, or absent. The To pitch list filters that down to pages citing rivals but not you, and each row opens with the evidence, the play and a pitch you can copy. Cituna’s Starter, $39 a month, checks 10 prompts daily on ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode; Cituna’s Pro, $119, checks 30; Cituna’s Max, $399, checks 90. Search Console is on every paid plan, so you can see whether winning a citation moved clicks, and the same cited-page data is readable from Claude through Cituna’s MCP server.

Best for: turning cited pages into a list of pages to improve or pitch, across seven engines every day.
Limits: a 3-day trial with a card; Microsoft Copilot, Meta AI and DeepSeek are not tracked; there is no sentiment score.

2. Otterly.ai

Otterly.ai’s Citations Report lists the URLs cited for your prompts, filters them by domain and by domain category, and checks each cited URL for whether your brand or a competitor is mentioned on it. A July 2026 update added a Winners and Losers view of the URLs gaining or losing citations, starred URLs, and a details view with a URL’s citations over time, the prompts it was cited in and the engine each citation appeared on (otterly.ai Citations Report update, read October 13, 2026). Otterly.ai’s Lite plan costs $29 a month for 15 prompts checked daily on ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot (otterly.ai/pricing, October 1, 2026).

Best for: watching which sources rise and fall on a short prompt list, with Copilot included.
Limits: 15 prompts on Lite; Claude, Gemini and AI Mode are add-ons; Otterly.ai’s API access starts on the $189 Standard plan.

3. LLMrefs

LLMrefs tracks citations to show which sources shape the answers, generates fan-out prompts from your keywords, and can target more than 50 countries. LLMrefs has one plan, $79 a month and marked limited time, for 500 prompts across eleven engines including Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, Grok, Copilot, Meta AI and DeepSeek (llmrefs.com/pricing, October 1, 2026).

Best for: the widest engine list on one flat fee.
Limits: every prompt refreshes at least weekly, not daily; the source we read does not say whether cited URLs are shown per engine.

4. Peec AI

Peec AI’s Sources section has Domains and URLs pages, and Peec AI’s documentation separates sources (the URLs a model reads while answering) from citations (the sources the final answer references). Peec AI groups sources into types such as Editorial, Corporate, UGC and Reference, and its Gap Analysis highlights sources where competitors appear but you do not (docs.peec.ai/understanding-sources, October 13, 2026). Peec AI’s Starter costs $95 a month, or $80 billed yearly, for 50 prompts on three models you pick from ChatGPT, Google AI Mode, AI Overviews, Microsoft Copilot, Gemini and Naver AI (peec.ai/pricing, October 1, 2026).

Best for: analysing what kind of sites the engines draw on.
Limits: three models on Starter; Claude and Grok are on the custom Enterprise plan.

5. SE Ranking

SE Ranking tracks mentions and links, shows which domains and URLs each engine pulled from, and keeps cached copies of the answers (SE Ranking’s AI tracker pages, read October 4, 2026). SE Ranking’s Core plan costs $129 a month, or $103.20 billed yearly, for 100 prompts a day on Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity, with source analysis and MCP access next to rank tracking, audits and backlink research (seranking.com, September 25, 2026). Our review of SE Ranking’s AI tracker covers the rest.

Best for: cited URLs per engine at a high prompt count, inside an SEO suite.
Limits: no Claude, Grok or Copilot on Core; you pay for the full suite.

6. Ahrefs Brand Radar

Ahrefs Brand Radar reports mentions by platform alongside cited domains and cited pages; Ahrefs’s free AI visibility checker previews the top five of each (ahrefs.com/ai-visibility-checker, September 28, 2026). Brand Radar’s AI Visibility Index costs $199 a month for one AI platform or $699 for all, and Brand Radar’s Custom Prompts for your own questions start at $50 a month (ahrefs.com/brand-radar, September 25, 2026). Ahrefs’s Lite plan, $129 a month, includes 5 tracked AI prompts a day (ahrefs.com/pricing, October 7, 2026).

Best for: market-wide research into which sites an engine cites across a category.
Limits: each AI platform is priced separately; the index reflects Ahrefs’s prompt set, and your own prompts are a separate add-on.

7. Scrunch AI

Scrunch AI’s Core plan includes 125 unique prompts with citation and source tracking, sentiment analysis, and AI agent and bot traffic reporting, on ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Microsoft Copilot (scrunch.com/pricing, October 1, 2026). Scrunch AI’s Core starts at $250 a month, with 5,000 responses a month, so check how often each prompt refreshes.

Best for: source tracking next to AI bot traffic, with Copilot.
Limits: four engines on Core; Claude, Grok, Gemini and AI Mode need the Enterprise contract.

8. Profound

Profound shows every cited URL for each prompt it monitors, competitor domains included, sorts each cited source into a category (Owned, Competitor, Earned Media, PR Wire, Social or Institution), and breaks citation share down by platform, topic and prompt. Profound’s Watched Pages track how citation volume changes on individual pages over time, and citation data exports as CSV or JSON (tryprofound.com citations feature page, October 13, 2026). Profound’s pricing page offers a free 7-day trial with 50 prompts a day on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews from a set you cannot edit, then a custom Enterprise contract with no published price (tryprofound.com/pricing, October 1, 2026).

Best for: enterprise teams that want citation share by platform and page-level citation trends.
Limits: no self-serve paid plan; the trial prompt set is fixed and has no history or exports.

Other tools with partial citation views

  • Rankscale bundles citations, sentiment and page audits across a long engine list, from $99 a month on Rankscale’s Pro plan (rankscale.ai, October 9, 2026); the page we read does not describe a cited-URL view.
  • Gumshoe keeps its Citation and Content Audits on its Pro plan (Gumshoe pricing, October 9, 2026).
  • ZipTie sells Reddit and YouTube source analysis as an add-on that raises ZipTie’s prompt bill by 80% (ziptie.ai/pricing, October 6, 2026).

What to do with the cited pages

A citation list is useful only if it changes what you publish or who you contact. Sort the cited pages into three groups: your own pages (improve them so they keep being cited), third-party pages that already mention you (keep them current), and third-party pages that name a competitor but not you (pitch them or publish the page they are missing). Measuring this at page level, and over time, is covered in our guide to measuring page-level AI citations. For which tools AI engines themselves name, see the AI visibility tools AI engines cite.

Drafted with AI assistance from our own research and Search Console data, and reviewed by Rahul A before publishing. Rules and prices change; check the linked official source before you act.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best AI citation tracking tool?

For a team that wants to see every day which pages seven AI engines cite for its buyers’ questions, and which of those pages name a competitor but not it, Cituna: its Sources tab lists every cited page per engine and per prompt, from $39 a month. Otterly.ai ($29 Lite) and Profound (enterprise) also show cited URLs. Disclosure: we build Cituna; rival features are dated from each vendor’s own page.

What is the difference between tracking mentions and tracking citations?

A mention is your brand named in the text of an answer. A citation is a page the engine points to as its source: a link, a numbered marker or a source card. Most AI visibility tools count mentions; fewer list the cited domains and URLs, and that list is what you act on, because each cited page is one you can improve, get listed on or pitch.

What is the cheapest AI citation tracking tool?

Otterly.ai’s Lite plan is $29 a month for 15 prompts checked daily on four engines, and its Citations Report lists the URLs cited for them. Cituna’s Starter is $39 a month for 10 prompts checked daily on seven engines, with a 3-day trial that needs a card.

Try Cituna on your own buyer questions

Compare brand mentions, cited sources and competitors across seven AI engines. Turn the gaps you find into prioritized SEO, AEO and GEO fixes.

Start free trial

3-day free trial · Card required, cancel anytime · Plans from $39 a month

Check crawler readiness free