Wellows prices AI visibility tracking by usage rather than by prompt count. Which alternative fits depends on which engines your buyers use and whether you want a fixed bill or a metered one. Below we compare nine tools on metering, engines, price and how you start, with Wellows as the baseline.
Fair-comparison note:
How Wellows prices AI visibility tracking
Wellows does not cap prompts, projects or seats. It sells a balance: one prompt asked on one engine on one day spends one AI answer, and the balance resets on your billing date. Wellows’ pricing page, read on October 9, 2026, lists four plans, each billed monthly and each with a 7-day free trial:
- Basic, $29 a month: 1,800 answers, about 60 a day. Wellows sizes this as 12 prompts on all five engines daily, or 60 prompts on one engine.
- Standard, $97: 6,500 answers, about 216 a day, or 43 prompts on all five engines daily. Wellows calls it the setup it starts customers on.
- Growth, $249: 18,000 answers, about 600 a day, or 120 prompts on all five engines daily. This plan card lists white-label client dashboards.
- Scale, $497: 36,000 answers, about 1,200 a day, or 240 prompts on all five engines daily. Larger rosters get a custom quote.
The five engines are ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode, tracked daily or weekly per project. Wellows says every plan carries the core product: citation tracking that catches both named mentions and uncredited links to your domain, sentiment traced to the page a model read, competitor rank movement, ranked quick wins, content opportunities, a writing agent called KIVA, outreach targets, and Search Console plus a WordPress plugin. When the balance hits zero, collection pauses until the next billing date, and unused answers do not roll over.
Why teams look elsewhere
Wellows is generous on projects and seats, which suits agencies with many small clients. Teams look elsewhere for these reasons:
- Engines outside the five. Claude, Grok and Microsoft Copilot are not tracked, so answers from those assistants stay invisible.
- A balance you can run dry. A launch month that runs prompts hard can end collection days before the billing date, which leaves a gap in the daily history.
- Sizing takes arithmetic. Prompts times engines times days must fit the balance, so adding an engine or a client means checking the calculator first.
- A small daily set at entry. At $29, the balance covers about 12 prompts on all five engines each day.
How we chose these nine
- It tracks AI answers for prompts you set. Every entry records whether engines mention or cite your brand. Each tracks at least one engine Wellows covers.
- It publishes a price. Every entry lists a plan you can buy without a sales call.
- Each fact is dated. Wellows, Surfer, Rankability and Rankscale’s plans were read on their pricing pages on October 9, 2026. Otterly.ai’s Lite plan and LLMrefs were read on October 7, Peec AI’s sentiment reporting on October 5 and its trial on October 9, and Peec AI’s plans, Promptwatch and AthenaHQ on October 1, 2026. Rankscale’s credit costs and engine count were re-read on October 9, 2026.
Cituna leads because it is ours. The others follow by entry price, lowest first. The numbers are for finding your way, not a ranking.
Wellows alternatives at a glance
| # | Tool | Best for | How it meters | Engines | Claude and Grok | Entry price | How you start |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cituna | Seven engines daily, with the fixes written | Flat prompts, daily | 7 | Both | $39/mo (10 prompts) | 3-day trial, card required |
| 2 | Otterly.ai | Microsoft Copilot on a small budget | Flat prompts, daily | 4, others as add-ons | Claude as an add-on; no Grok | Otterly.ai $29/mo (15 prompts) | Free trial, length not stated |
| 3 | LLMrefs | Eleven engines on one flat fee | Flat prompts, weekly | 11 | Both | LLMrefs $79/mo (500 prompts) | 7-day trial |
| 4 | Surfer | An AI tracker inside a content editor | Flat prompts, daily outside Standard | 5 | Neither | Surfer $82/mo billed yearly; $95 billed monthly (50 prompts) | Trial length not stated |
| 5 | Peec AI | Sentiment and share-of-voice dashboards | Flat prompts, daily | 3 you choose | Enterprise only | Peec AI $95/mo, $80 billed annually | Free trial, length not stated |
| 6 | Promptwatch | Picking your own four models, with an API | Prompts and responses, daily | 4 you choose | Either, as picks | Promptwatch $95/mo (50 prompts) | 7-day trial |
| 7 | Rankability | Agencies bundling content projects | Tracked queries, daily | 11 | Both | Rankability $97/mo (100 AI queries) | Self-serve signup |
| 8 | Rankscale | 17+ engines, Copilot included, on credits | Credits per run | 17+ | Both | Rankscale $99/mo (1,200 credits) | 7-day trial of Pro |
| 9 | AthenaHQ | A free tier, then a credit plan | Credits per response | 5 free, 11 paid | Both, on paid | $0, then AthenaHQ $295/mo | Free tier |
| Wellows (baseline) | Agencies with many small projects | Answer balance, daily or weekly | 5 | Neither | Wellows $29/mo (1,800 answers) | 7-day trial |
Monthly billing unless stated. Wellows, Surfer, Rankability and Rankscale’s plans from their pricing pages, October 9, 2026. Cituna from cituna.com/pricing. Others on the dates in the method above. Cituna does not track Microsoft Copilot, Meta AI, DeepSeek or Brave AI. Pricing in this category changes often; check before you buy.
The 9 best Wellows alternatives in detail
1. Cituna (best for seven engines daily, with the fixes written)
Cituna tracks how AI engines answer your buyers and then writes the change that would win the answer back. It covers seven engines on every plan, checked every day: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode. For each prompt it logs whether you are named, where you rank among the brands listed, which of your pages are cited and which competitors are recommended. For a lost answer it generates schema, FAQs or an llms.txt entry, and AutoSEO writes 30 articles a month on Starter for questions your site has no page for, kept as drafts until you publish them. Prompts run on a fixed daily schedule, so there is no balance to run down mid-month. Search Console is built in to check changes against real clicks, API keys come with every paid plan, and MCP read access comes with Starter and MCP write access with Pro.
- Best for: a brand or growing team that needs Claude and Grok covered next to Google’s and OpenAI’s engines, with a monthly bill that does not move with usage.
- What it costs: Starter $39 a month (one brand, 10 prompts), Pro $119 (three brands, 30 prompts, five seats, keyword and SERP-rank data), Max $399 (ten brands, 90 prompts, 15 seats). Every tier is on the pricing page.
- Where it falls short against Wellows: Wellows starts lower at $29, puts no limit on projects or seats, scores sentiment and suggests outreach targets, and lists white-label client dashboards on its Growth plan; Cituna offers none of those. Cituna’s brand count is fixed per plan: one on Starter.
2. Otterly.ai (best for Microsoft Copilot on a small budget)
Otterly.ai charges $29 a month on Lite for 15 prompts checked daily on ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot, with unlimited team members (otterly.ai/pricing, October 7, 2026). On October 1, 2026, Otterly.ai sold Gemini and Google AI Mode as $9-a-month add-ons and Claude as a $29 add-on on Lite; Grok was not sold. Otterly.ai’s API and MCP start on Standard at $189.
- Best for: a small team whose buyers use Copilot, which Wellows does not track, at the same $29 entry price.
- What it costs: Otterly.ai is $29, $189 or $489 a month.
- Where it falls short: two of Wellows’ five engines cost extra on Lite, there is no writing agent or fix generation, and no Grok. See our Otterly alternatives.
3. LLMrefs (best for eleven engines on one flat fee)
LLMrefs offers a single All in One plan, listed on October 7, 2026 at $79 a month as a limited-time price, with 500 prompts across eleven engines that include Claude, Grok, Microsoft Copilot, Meta AI and DeepSeek. LLMrefs seats and projects are unlimited, and the plan adds CSV export, an API, targeting in over 50 countries and a 7-day trial (llmrefs.com/pricing).
- Best for: an agency that likes Wellows’ unlimited projects but needs more than five engines and a price that does not depend on usage.
- What it costs: LLMrefs is $79 a month.
- Where it falls short: prompts refresh weekly, never daily, and it reports positions without the quick wins or content work Wellows includes. See our LLMrefs alternatives.
4. Surfer (best for an AI tracker inside a content editor)
Surfer’s AI Tracker sits inside a content optimization suite. Surfer’s AI Search Analytics plan, at $82 a month billed yearly, tracks 50 prompts daily across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews and Gemini, with five brand spaces, mention-gap and sentiment reports and MCP, but no documents. Surfer’s Standard at $99 adds 360 documents but tracks 25 prompts weekly on ChatGPT alone; Surfer’s Pro at $182 tracks 50 daily prompts on all five engines with the documents; Peace of Mind at $299 tracks 100 and adds Surfer’s API (surferseo.com/pricing, October 9, 2026).
- Best for: a content team that would rather optimize drafts in a scored editor than use Wellows’ writing agent.
- What it costs: Surfer is $82, $99, $182 or $299 a month billed yearly; Surfer’s help docs put AI Search Analytics at $95 billed monthly.
- Where it falls short: the same five engines as Wellows, so Claude and Grok are still missing, and a fixed prompt cap instead of Wellows’ unlimited projects. See our Surfer AI Tracker alternatives.
5. Peec AI (best for sentiment and share-of-voice dashboards)
Peec AI measures visibility, position, sentiment and share of voice daily against competitors you name (read October 5, 2026). Peec AI’s Starter costs $95 a month, or $80 billed annually, for 50 prompts on three models chosen from ChatGPT, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews, Microsoft Copilot, Gemini and Naver AI, with unlimited users; Peec AI’s Pro at $245 and Advanced at $495 raise the prompts to 150 and 350 (peec.ai/pricing, October 1, 2026). Peec AI offers a free trial, length not stated (October 9, 2026).
- Best for: a brand team that reports competitor share to leadership and wants a fixed prompt count.
- What it costs: Peec AI is $95, $245 or $495 a month; Enterprise is quoted.
- Where it falls short: three models at a time against Wellows’ five, and Claude and Grok held for Peec AI’s Enterprise plan. See our Peec AI alternatives.
6. Promptwatch (best for picking your own four models)
On Essential, Promptwatch costs $95 a month for 50 prompts and 6,000 responses on four models you choose from OpenAI, Perplexity, Google, Claude, Gemini, Meta, DeepSeek and Grok, refreshed daily, with MCP, an API and a 7-day trial. Promptwatch’s Professional plan at $245 has 150 prompts, AI crawler logs and five articles a month (promptwatch.com/pricing, October 1, 2026).
- Best for: a technical team that wants to swap one of Wellows’ engines for Claude or Grok and pull data over an API.
- What it costs: Promptwatch is $95, $245 or $579 a month; the top plan is sold by demo.
- Where it falls short: four models at once on Essential, and articles only from Professional. See our Promptwatch alternatives.
7. Rankability (best for agencies bundling content projects)
Rankability bundles AI tracking with content production for agencies. Rankability’s Starter is $97 a month, or $970 a year, for 100 tracked AI queries, 20 content projects, 50 Google keywords and 10 Local Pack scans, with unlimited client workspaces and team members and API and MCP access. All Rankability plans monitor 11 platforms daily, Claude, Grok, Microsoft Copilot, DeepSeek and Meta AI among them; Rankability’s Agency plan is $297 and Agency Pro $497 (rankability.com/pricing, October 9, 2026).
- Best for: an agency that wants Wellows’ unlimited workspaces with more engines and a content team’s workflow built in.
- What it costs: Rankability is $97, $297 or $497 a month; yearly plans cost ten months.
- Where it falls short: priced against Wellows’ Standard rather than its Basic, and much of the plan is content and local SEO an in-house tracker team may not use. Compare the options in our Rankability alternatives.
8. Rankscale (best for Copilot, Claude and Grok on credits)
Rankscale meters like Wellows, but in credits whose cost depends on the engine: Rankscale’s calculator charged 0.25 credits for a ChatGPT run and 2 for a Claude run on October 9, 2026. Rankscale’s monthly plans start at Pro, $99 for 1,200 credits, which Rankscale puts at about 4,800 AI responses; Rankscale’s Pro+ at $229 adds the REST API, Growth at $385 adds white-label, and Rankscale lists an Enterprise plan at $780 (rankscale.ai/pricing, October 9, 2026). Rankscale’s home page lists 17+ engines on all plans, Claude, Grok and Microsoft Copilot included (October 9, 2026), and Rankscale offers a 7-day trial of Pro.
- Best for: a team that is comfortable with usage metering and wants Copilot, Claude and Grok beside Wellows’ five.
- What it costs: Rankscale is $99, $229, $385 or $780 a month.
- Where it falls short: a Claude run costs eight times a ChatGPT run, so a budget is harder to forecast than Wellows’ one-answer-per-run rule, and there is no Search Console connection. See our Rankscale alternatives.
9. AthenaHQ (best for a free tier, then a credit plan)
AthenaHQ also bills by usage, one credit per AI response. AthenaHQ’s free Essential tier has 300 credits on ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Gemini and Microsoft Copilot; AthenaHQ’s Starter at $295 a month buys 3,600 credits across eleven named models, adding Google AI Mode, Claude, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral, and connects GA4 and Search Console (athenahq.ai/plans, October 1, 2026).
- Best for: a team that wants to try AI tracking at no cost before choosing a paid metered plan.
- What it costs: AthenaHQ is free, then $295 a month (17% less billed annually); Enterprise is custom.
- Where it falls short: AthenaHQ’s first paid plan buys 3,600 credits for $295, where Wellows’ $249 Growth plan holds 18,000 answers, though on fewer engines. See our AthenaHQ alternatives.
Which Wellows alternative fits you
Two questions decide it: which engines your buyers use, and whether you want a fixed bill or a metered one.
If you run many small client projects and Wellows’ five engines cover them, its unlimited projects and seats on one balance fit that work, and LLMrefs is the flat-fee option with more engines. If your buyers ask Claude or Grok and you want daily checks with the fixes written for one or a few brands, Cituna. For Copilot, Otterly.ai or Peec AI. For a content editor with tracking attached, Surfer; for content projects for clients, Rankability. If you like metering and want Copilot, Claude and Grok beside Wellows’ five, Rankscale or AthenaHQ’s paid plan.
The fastest test is the same for all of them: run 20 real buyer questions on two trials for three days, then read the raw answers side by side. Which brands were named, which pages were cited, and what would each tool have you fix first?
Drafted with AI assistance from our own research and Search Console data, and reviewed by Rahul A before publishing. Rules and prices change; check the linked official source before you act.