The right Promptwatch alternative depends on which of its two extras you actually use: AI crawler logs or written content. Peec AI puts crawler logs on its $95 Starter plan, Otterly.ai adds them from its $189 Standard plan, and Profound pairs server-log analytics with AI writing agents on enterprise terms. For content, Cituna (our product) writes one article a day from $39 a month, and AthenaHQ includes a content optimization agent at $295. If you only need answer tracking, LLMrefs covers every engine it supports for $79 a month, and Rankscale charges by credit, with Pro at $99. Promptwatch itself starts at $95 a month, but both of its extras begin on the $245 Professional plan.
Fair-comparison note:
Why teams look past Promptwatch
Promptwatch is a capable platform, and its pricing page is unusually clear about what each tier includes. Most reasons buyers compare it with other tools come from that same page:
- Both headline extras start at $245. The $95 Essential plan has no crawler logs and no AEO articles. Professional ($245) adds a crawler log allowance of 25M and five articles a month; Business ($579) raises those to 100M and ten.
- Four models on every brand plan. Essential, Professional and Business are each labelled as tracking four models, and the plan tooltip names ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini and Claude. Promptwatch supports more platforms than that, including Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, Grok and DeepSeek, and its agency plans track all of them.
- Few seats. Essential includes one seat, Professional two and Business five. Several alternatives below include unlimited users from their first paid plan.
- Steep steps between tiers. The brand plans run $95, $245 and $579 a month, or $950, $2,450 and $5,790 a year on annual billing. Essential and Professional come with a seven-day free trial; Business starts with a demo.
How we chose these seven
Every tool on this page had to clear three bars:
- It tracks how AI answer engines mention or cite a brand on a schedule, rather than running a one-off audit.
- It shows a price on its own site, or lets you start a free trial or free tier without a sales call.
- We could confirm each fact we state on the vendor's own pricing or feature pages, read on September 25, 2026. Each entry links to them.
We started from the trackers that recur in Promptwatch comparisons and on our own comparison pages. Tools we could not check on their own pages this round are left out rather than described from memory.
How the list is ordered: Cituna comes first because we make it. After that, the order follows Promptwatch's two extras: tools that offer both crawler logs and content writing, then crawler logs only, then content only, then tracking only. Within a group, the tool whose cheapest qualifying plan costs less comes first. The numbers help you find your way; they are not a quality ranking.
Promptwatch alternatives at a glance
| Tool | Best for | Entry price | Engines on the entry plan | Seats | Free trial or tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Promptwatch (the baseline) | Logs, articles and tracking in one tool | $95/mo Essential | 4 models | 1 (2 on Professional, 5 on Business) | 7 days |
| Cituna | Daily articles and written fixes on a small budget | $39/mo | 7 | 1 (5 on Pro, 15 on Max) | 3 days, card required |
| Profound | Enterprise teams that want logs and AI agents | Free trial, then custom Enterprise | 3 on the trial, up to 9 on Enterprise | Unlimited | 7-day free trial |
| Peec AI | Crawler logs on the first paid plan | $95/mo | 3, chosen from 6 | Unlimited | Free trial, length not stated |
| Otterly.ai | The lowest monthly start | $29/mo ($25 billed yearly) | 4, with paid add-ons | Unlimited | Free trial, length not stated |
| AthenaHQ | A free start, then a content agent with GA4 and Search Console | Free, then $295/mo | 5 free, 11 on Starter | Unlimited | Free tier with $25 of credit |
| LLMrefs | Every engine on one flat plan | $79/mo | All it supports (its FAQ names 10) | Unlimited | 7 days |
| Rankscale | Paying per check, hourly to monthly | $20/mo plus credits; Pro $99/mo | Your choice per search term | Unlimited from Pro | 7 days on Pro |
Every figure comes from that vendor's own pricing page, read September 25, 2026 and linked in each section below. Prices change fast, verify before you buy, and tell us if anything here is out of date.
Crawler logs and content: which alternative covers what
By crawler logs we mean a record of real AI bot requests to your pages, taken from your CDN or server. That is a different thing from a robots.txt check, which only tells you whether a bot is allowed in. The two answer different questions: our guide to allowing AI crawlers in robots.txt safely covers the access side, and a log tool shows whether the bots then came and what they fetched. By content writing we mean drafts of articles or page edits produced for you, not a list of recommendations you write up yourself.
| Tool | AI crawler logs | Content writing |
|---|---|---|
| Promptwatch | From Professional ($245): 25M allowance, 100M on Business | From Professional: 5 AEO articles a month, 10 on Business |
| Cituna | No. Checks whether robots.txt lets AI crawlers in | Yes, from $39: one article a day, plus fix recommendations (auto-generated fixes on Pro) |
| Profound | Yes: server logs with bot verification, on the free trial too | Yes: AI Marketer agents, paid in credits |
| Peec AI | Yes, from $95: 4M bot visits (10M on Pro, 25M on Advanced) | No. Recommended actions and agent skills for reports |
| Otterly.ai | From Standard ($189): 200k events a month, 1M on Premium | No. GEO and content audits with ranked recommendations |
| AthenaHQ | No. Manages crawler access through robots.txt and llms.txt | Yes, AthenaHQ's $295 Starter includes a base content optimization agent |
| LLMrefs | No. Free AI crawlability checker | No |
| Rankscale | No. Page audits for single URLs | No |
Of the seven, only Profound covers both, and for ongoing use only on enterprise or agency terms. If you want both on self-serve plans, the realistic options are staying on Promptwatch Professional or pairing a log tool with a writing tool. Peec AI's Starter and Cituna's Starter together come to $134 a month against $245 for Professional, though you would run two tools, and Professional tracks more prompts (150) than the two starter plans combined (60).
What Promptwatch does well
Before you switch, be clear about what you would give up. Promptwatch's Agent Analytics is real log data, not a robots.txt check: it connects through Akamai, AWS CloudFront, Cloudflare, Fastly, Google Cloud CDN, Netlify or Vercel, or through forwarded server logs, and records which AI bots requested which pages, with the status code and time. Agent Analytics then separates the pages bots read from the pages AI answers actually cite, which is the useful part.
Promptwatch's Content Agents compare your existing pages with the AI answers you track, build a brief from your own branding and sources, and propose changes as git-diff style edits, which makes review quick. MCP and API access come with every brand plan, as do Google Search Console, Webflow, Framer and Slack integrations. Promptwatch's Business plan adds state and city tracking, Shopping insights and an ads radar. If your team uses all of that together, few tools match it one for one, and staying may be the right call.
The 7 best Promptwatch alternatives in detail
Each entry below tracks how AI engines mention and cite a brand. Cituna is first because we make it, and the rest follow the grouping explained in the method above. For each one you get what it is, who it suits, what it costs and where it falls short next to Promptwatch.
How this list works: every entry tracks how AI engines mention and cite a brand. Cituna comes first because we make it. After that the numbers help you find your way; they are not a ranking.
1. Cituna (best for daily articles and written fixes on a small budget)
Cituna is our product. It asks ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode your buyers' questions every day, records every answer, and shows which competitor was named when you were not. Where it overlaps with Promptwatch is content. AutoSEO picks questions with real search demand that your site has no page for and writes one article a day on Starter, three on Pro and ten on Max. Articles go to WordPress, Shopify, GitHub or a webhook, or stay in Cituna until someone has read them; the AutoSEO setup guide walks through those choices.
- Price: Starter is $39 a month for 1 brand, 10 buyer prompts, daily scans, fix recommendations, the API and read-only MCP. Pro is $119 for 3 brands, 30 prompts, alerts, auto-generated fixes, competitor tracking and MCP write actions. Max is $399 for 10 brands and 90 prompts. Self-serve billing is monthly; annual terms are on Enterprise.
- On every plan: Google Search Console, publishing to the major CMSs, weekly reports, and cancel anytime.
- Seats: one on Starter, five on Pro and fifteen on Max.
- Trial: three days with a card, covering one brand and five prompts.
Where it falls short: Cituna does not read server or CDN logs. Its crawler checks look at robots.txt and your public files, so they tell you whether AI bots are allowed in, not whether they came. It also tracks fewer prompts for the money: 10 on the $39 plan, against 50 on Promptwatch Essential. The trial is shorter than Promptwatch's seven days and needs a card, Starter has a single seat, and Microsoft Copilot, Meta AI and DeepSeek are not tracked.
Source: Cituna pricing, read September 25, 2026.
2. Profound (best for enterprise teams that want logs and AI agents together)
Profound is the one tool here that matches both of Promptwatch's extras. Profound's Agent Analytics works from server logs rather than JavaScript tags, tells genuine AI bots apart from spoofed ones, and ties bot activity to AI-sourced traffic and attribution. Profound's AI Marketer runs agents that research and write for your brand, metered in credits.
- For brands: a free trial with limited AI Marketer credits and 50 prompts run daily for seven days on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, with unlimited seats and Agent Analytics on unlimited domains. Ongoing use is Enterprise, priced to order, with up to nine answer engines, SSO and SOC 2.
- For agencies: Profound's Agency Growth adds full client workspaces at $399 a month each (ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google AI Overviews, 100 prompts daily, 400 agent credits a month) and five trial workspaces for $199 a month.
- Agent Analytics integrations: Akamai, AWS, Cloudflare, Fastly, Google Cloud, Netlify, Vercel and WordPress, plus Google Analytics.
Where it falls short: there is no published self-serve price for a single brand once the trial ends, so ongoing use means a sales conversation. Trial users get a recommended prompt set for their industry and cannot edit it, and the trial covers three engines. If that sales-led model is the sticking point, our Profound alternatives guide covers the tools teams move to from it.
Source: Profound pricing, read September 25, 2026.
3. Peec AI (best for crawler logs on the first paid plan)
Peec AI costs the same as Promptwatch Essential, $95 a month, and Peec AI's Starter plan already includes the crawler data Promptwatch reserves for its $245 plan. Crawl insights show which AI bots hit which pages, how often, and which status code they got. The data comes from Vercel, Cloudflare, AWS, CloudFront, Google Cloud CDN, WordPress, Akamai, a generic webhook or an uploaded CSV/CLF log. Starter also includes a robots.txt crawlability audit and AI referral tracking, and every plan has unlimited users.
- Price: Peec AI's Starter is $95 for 50 prompts, 3 models, daily tracking, 1 project and 4M bot visits. Pro is $245 for 150 prompts, 2 projects and 10M bot visits. Advanced is $495 for 350 prompts, 5 projects, several countries, Looker Studio and 25M bot visits. Enterprise is custom, with up to 13 models. Annual billing takes 15% off.
- Models: pick three from ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Microsoft Copilot, Gemini and Naver AI. More models are an add-on.
Where it falls short: three models at a time is one fewer than Promptwatch's four, and Perplexity and Claude appear only on Enterprise. There is no article writing: Peec offers recommended actions and an agent with skills for reports and diagnostics. The pricing page offers a free trial but does not say how long it lasts. We compare it with our own tool in Cituna vs Peec AI.
Source: Peec AI pricing, read September 25, 2026.
4. Otterly.ai (best for the lowest monthly start, with crawler analytics a tier up)
Otterly.ai is the cheapest way in on this list. Otterly.ai's Lite plan is $29 a month, or $25 billed yearly, and every plan includes unlimited team members. Lite tracks 15 prompts daily on ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot. Otterly.ai's Agent Analytics, from the $189 Standard plan, uses a server, edge or CDN integration to name the AI bots and agents fetching your pages and to keep those fetches apart from people who arrive from an AI answer.
- Price: Otterly.ai's Lite is $29 for 15 prompts, 1 workspace and 3 recommendations a week. Standard is $189, or $160 billed yearly, for 100 prompts, the API, MCP, 200k Agent Analytics events a month and unlimited workspaces. Premium is $489, or $422 billed yearly, for 400 prompts and 1M events. On Standard and Premium, 100 extra prompts cost $99.
- Optimization: a GEO audit that tests 19 AI crawlers against your robots.txt and live server, a content audit, and a ranked queue of on-page and off-page recommendations.
Where it falls short: Claude, Gemini and Google AI Mode are paid add-ons on every plan, Lite has no crawler analytics, and Otterly does not write articles for you. Fifteen prompts is a small sample for a brand with several product lines. There is a free trial, but the pricing page does not give its length.
Source: Otterly.ai pricing, read September 25, 2026.
5. AthenaHQ (best for a free start, then a content agent with GA4 and Search Console)
AthenaHQ is the content-side alternative for mid-market teams. AthenaHQ's free Essential tier comes with $25 of credit (300 credits) across ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Gemini and Copilot, with unlimited members and content recommendations. AthenaHQ's $295 Starter plan adds 3,600 credits a month, where one credit is one AI response, and eleven models, including Claude, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral. AthenaHQ also brings a base content optimization agent, brand voice and guideline enforcement, Google Analytics 4 and Search Console integration, and Shopify and Webflow connections.
- Price: AthenaHQ's free tier, then Starter at $295 a month, 17% less billed annually, and custom Enterprise. API access and extra credits are paid add-ons on Starter.
- Crawler side: Starter manages AI crawler access through a dynamic robots.txt and llms.txt.
- Team: unlimited seats with role-based access control.
Where it falls short: no crawler log analysis is listed, so it shapes what bots may do without showing what they did. AthenaHQ's paid entry is $295, about three times Promptwatch Essential. Starter covers a single region, the advanced content agent is Enterprise only, and API access costs extra.
Source: AthenaHQ plans, read September 25, 2026.
6. LLMrefs (best for every engine on one flat plan)
LLMrefs has the simplest pricing here: one All in One plan at $79 a month, marked on the page as a limited-time price, with a seven-day free trial. You track keywords rather than hand-written prompts, and it generates fan-out prompts from each one, up to 500 prompts across every AI search engine it supports at no extra fee. LLMrefs' FAQ names ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, Grok, Copilot, Meta and DeepSeek. Team members and projects are unlimited, and CSV export and an API are included.
- Also included: citation tracking, geo-targeting by country and language, AI prompt volume estimates, and free tools such as an AI crawlability checker and an llms.txt generator.
Where it falls short: reports refresh weekly, with every keyword updated at least once a week, while Promptwatch and most tools here track daily. There are no crawler logs and no content writing. And because LLMrefs' $79 price is labelled limited-time, check it again before you budget a year around it.
Source: LLMrefs pricing, read September 25, 2026.
7. Rankscale (best for paying per check, hourly to monthly)
Rankscale prices by credits instead of prompts. Each query to an AI engine uses a fraction of a credit, typically a quarter, and you choose the engines and schedule for each search term: hourly, daily, weekly or monthly. Rankscale's engine list includes ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, DeepSeek, Mistral, Grok and Copilot. Search terms are unlimited; the credits are what run out.
- Price: Rankscale's Essentials starts at $20 a month with no credits included, so you top up. Pro is $99 with 1,200 credits (up to 4,800 answers), 10 brand dashboards, 50 page audits and a seven-day free trial. Growth is $385 for 5,500 credits, white-label dashboards and the REST API; Enterprise is $780 for 12,000 credits. Yearly billing saves 15%.
- Team: team workspaces with unlimited seats from Pro, and an MCP connection for AI assistants.
Where it falls short: you budget credits rather than prompts, so long engine lists or hourly schedules use them up quickly. There are no crawler logs and no content writing; its page audits check one URL at a time. Essentials has no team workspaces.
Source: Rankscale pricing, read September 25, 2026.
Which Promptwatch alternative fits you
- You bought Promptwatch for crawler logs: Peec AI includes them at $95, Otterly.ai from $189, and Profound if you are buying on enterprise terms.
- You bought it for articles: Cituna writes one a day from $39, AthenaHQ's content agent starts at $295, and Profound's agents run on enterprise credits.
- You need more seats: Peec AI, Otterly.ai, LLMrefs and AthenaHQ include unlimited users, Rankscale does from Pro, and Cituna Pro has five.
- You want every engine for the least money: LLMrefs at $79, as long as weekly data is enough.
- You want to start free: AthenaHQ's free tier, Profound's seven-day trial, or Cituna's free crawler check (access only, not answers).
- Stay with Promptwatch if you use crawler logs, articles, state and city tracking or Shopping data together, or run an agency: its agency plans track all models with unlimited prompts, from $199 a month.
How to move from Promptwatch
- List what you track today. Copy your prompts, competitors and key pages, so the new tool starts from the same questions.
- Pick the extra you need. For crawler logs, connect Peec AI, Otterly.ai Standard or Profound to your CDN before you disconnect Promptwatch, so your bot data has no gap. For content, set up the new tool's publishing destination first.
- Run both side by side. Most tools here have a trial. Compare the same prompts on the same engines over the same week before you commit.
- Connect Google Search Console where the tool supports it (Cituna and AthenaHQ do, and so does Promptwatch), so you can see whether the changes earn clicks.
- Cancel last. Keep Promptwatch until the new tool has a week of data you trust, and check your renewal date if you pay annually.
Drafted with AI assistance from our own research and Search Console data, and reviewed by Rahul A before publishing. Rules and prices change; check the linked official source before you act.