If you track more than one brand, or want more than four engines, the Semrush AI Toolkit’s per-domain price and four-engine list are why you are reading this. It is a capable add-on for a Semrush-native team, but at $99/mo per domain and four engines it is built for a narrower job than a dedicated, seven-engine tool. Below are eight alternatives, two SEO suites and six dedicated AI visibility tools, each with what it costs, who it suits and where it falls short, plus a table and a feature matrix so you can compare entry plans at a glance.
A note on fairness:
Why people look for Semrush AI Toolkit alternatives
The AI Toolkit is a capable product inside the wider Semrush suite. Teams that evaluate it and then shop around tend to cite a few consistent, documented reasons:
- The price is per domain. The Base plan lists at $99/mo per domain, billed annually (read October 9, 2026), and it includes one domain for brand performance analysis; Semrush’s help article prices each additional domain at $99 a month. Agencies and multi-brand teams pay again for every property they track, which adds up fast across a client roster.
- Extra prompts cost extra. The Base plan tracks 25 custom prompts a day, and Semrush’s help article for the toolkit prices 50 more at $60 a month (both read October 9, 2026), on top of the per-domain price, so a growing buyer-question list raises the bill for every domain you track.
- No Claude, Grok or Copilot coverage. The Base plan reports mentions from ChatGPT, Google AI, Gemini and Perplexity (read October 9, 2026). If your buyers ask Claude or Grok, or you need Copilot, those engines are not in the tool.
- It is an add-on to a bigger suite, not a dedicated tool. The AI Toolkit is one motion inside the broader Semrush platform. If you do not otherwise live in Semrush, you are buying into a large suite to reach a focused AI-visibility job, and Semrush’s help article says the toolkit does not offer a free trial, so you pay before you see your own data.
None of this makes the Semrush AI Toolkit a bad product. They are reasons a different tool may fit your engine mix, prompt volume and budget better, and reasons the free AI visibility checker is often where teams start before deciding what to actually buy.
How we chose these eight
Every tool here had to clear three bars, and the Semrush AI Toolkit is the baseline, not an entry:
- It measures AI answers. It records whether AI engines mention or cite a brand for prompts you choose or can review, which is the job you would buy the Toolkit for.
- It fits one of the two reasons teams leave the Toolkit. Either it is another SEO suite with AI tracking built in, for a team that wants rank tracking and audits in the same login, or it is a dedicated AI visibility tool, for a team that does not want to pay per domain inside a large suite.
- Its facts come from the vendor’s own page, with a date. Semrush from semrush.com/pricing/ai and its AI Visibility Toolkit help article, read October 9, 2026. Cituna, Otterly.ai, Peec AI, Scrunch AI, AthenaHQ and Profound from each vendor’s pricing page, read October 1, 2026, with Otterly.ai’s trial terms re-read October 7 and Peec AI’s October 9. Ahrefs Brand Radar from ahrefs.com/brand-radar and SE Ranking from seranking.com, both read September 25, 2026. A dash in a table means the vendor’s page does not say.
Cituna is first because it is our product and it covers all seven engines daily on one account. The two suites come next, then the dedicated tools from the lowest to the highest first paid plan, with Profound last because it publishes no price for brands. The numbers help you find your way and are not a ranking. For what plans in this category usually cost, see our buyer’s guide to AI visibility tool pricing.
All eight Semrush AI Toolkit alternatives at a glance
| Tool | Kind | Best for | AI engines (entry plan) | Entry price | How you start |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cituna | Dedicated tool | Seven engines daily, fixes written; 3 brands on Pro, 10 on Max | 7 | $39/mo (10 prompts) | 3-day trial, card required |
| Ahrefs Brand Radar | SEO suite add-on | Market-wide AI mention research next to Ahrefs data | 1 per $199 index, all for $699 | $199/mo per AI platform; Custom Prompts from $50/mo | Buy online |
| SE Ranking | SEO suite | A suite with more daily AI prompts per plan | 5 | $129/mo Core (100 prompts a day) | 14-day trial, no card |
| Otterly.ai | Dedicated tool | Microsoft Copilot on a small budget | 4 (more as add-ons) | $29/mo (15 prompts) | Free trial |
| Peec AI | Dedicated tool | Sentiment and competitor reporting | 3 you choose | $95/mo, or $80 billed annually | Free trial, length not stated |
| Scrunch AI | Dedicated tool | An enterprise platform with a published first plan | 4 | $250/mo (Core, 125 prompts) | 7-day trial |
| AthenaHQ | Dedicated tool | A free tier, then eleven models | 5 free, 11 paid | $0, then $295/mo | Free tier |
| Profound | Dedicated tool | Prompt-volume data on a contract | 3 on the trial | Enterprise, not published | 7-day trial, then sales |
| Semrush AI Toolkit (baseline) | SEO suite add-on | Teams already working in Semrush | 4 | $99/mo per domain, billed annually | Buy online, no free trial |
Monthly billing unless stated. Semrush from semrush.com/pricing/ai and its AI Visibility Toolkit help article, read October 9, 2026. Cituna, Otterly.ai, Peec AI, Scrunch AI, AthenaHQ and Profound from each vendor’s pricing page, October 1, 2026 (Cituna from cituna.com/pricing); Otterly.ai’s trial from otterly.ai/pricing, October 7, 2026, and Peec AI’s trial from peec.ai/pricing, October 9, 2026, which offers a free trial without stating its length or whether a card is needed. Ahrefs from ahrefs.com/brand-radar and SE Ranking from seranking.com, September 25, 2026. Pricing in this category changes often; check before you buy.
Side-by-side: what each entry tier includes
Everything below is each tool’s entry paid tier as published on its own pricing page on the date given in the note, not the ceiling an enterprise contract can unlock. Where a vendor’s entry-tier detail is not broken out in the pricing we cite, the cell is left blank rather than guessed. The other five tools are compared in the table above and in their entries below.
| What you get | CitunaThat’s us | Semrush AI Toolkit | Ahrefs Brand Radar | Otterly.ai |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price / month | $39 | $99* | $199+* | $29 |
| AI engines included | 7 | 4 | Per platform | 4 |
| Claude tracked | Custom Prompts | Add-on | ||
| Grok tracked | ||||
| Microsoft Copilot | ||||
| Google AI Overviews | ||||
| Search Console | Via suite | — | ||
| MCP at entry | — | $189+ tier | ||
| Generated fixes | Audit only | — | 3 / week | |
| Free trial | 3 days (card) | No free trial | — | Yes, length not stated |
Semrush from semrush.com/pricing/ai and its AI Visibility Toolkit help article (semrush.com/kb/1493-ai-visibility-toolkit), read October 9, 2026; the help article says the toolkit does not offer a free trial. Cituna from cituna.com/pricing, October 1, 2026; Otterly.ai from otterly.ai/pricing, October 7, 2026; Ahrefs Brand Radar from ahrefs.com/brand-radar, September 25, 2026. A dash means that entry-tier detail is not broken out in the pricing we cite for that tool; check its page. The Semrush AI Toolkit’s Search Console data comes through the wider Semrush suite, not the AI Toolkit itself, and its site audit is AI-readiness scoring rather than per-prompt generated fixes. * Semrush is $99/mo per domain, billed annually. Ahrefs Brand Radar’s AI Visibility Index is $199/mo per AI platform or $699/mo for all of them, with Custom Prompts for your own questions from $50/mo; Claude is available only through Custom Prompts, at eight checks per update, and Grok is not offered. Cituna checks all seven engines daily. Prices change, verify before you buy.
What the Semrush AI Toolkit does well
Credit where it is due, because it should shape your decision. The AI Toolkit is backed by Semrush’s distribution and brand trust, it has a clean integration story if you already run your SEO there, and its free AI visibility checker is a genuinely useful way to see reality before you buy. Semrush’s distribution is measurable, too. In our own AI-visibility scan of cituna.com on July 17, 2026, Semrush was among the most-cited brands when we ran our buyer questions across the six engines we scanned then: named six times, tied with Moz for the most of any tool, with Ahrefs close behind at five. The Semrush AI Toolkit’s trade-offs are the ones above: a $99/mo per-domain price billed annually, 25 custom prompts a day per domain, four engines with no Claude, Grok or Copilot, and an AI-readiness site audit rather than per-prompt generated fixes (read October 9, 2026). If you live in Semrush and those limits fit, it may well be the right call.
The 8 Semrush AI Toolkit alternatives in detail
1. Cituna (best for seven engines checked daily, from $39)
Cituna scans how ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode cite your brand, all seven checked daily, shows the exact buyer prompts where you are missing, and generates the fix for each gap (schema, FAQ markup, llms.txt and the page changes), so you can act, not just read a score. Cituna’s AutoSEO writes 30 articles a month on Starter and publishes them to WordPress, Shopify, a GitHub repo or any CMS by webhook. Pricing is flat and per account, not per domain: $39 Starter, $119 Pro, and $399 Max (90 tracked prompts, 10 brands, daily scans on every brand, the highest API allowances and priority support), with API keys on every paid plan, so a multi-brand team or agency adds brands up to its plan’s limit without a per-domain surcharge, and custom Enterprise plans, custom prompt pools, brands and engine cadences with invoiced billing and onboarding, cover the highest-volume rosters. Every plan includes a 3-day free trial (card required, no charge during the trial). A native Google Search Console integration ties the AI work back to real clicks, and a built-in MCP server (read tools from $39; write tools such as run_scan from the $119 Pro plan) lets you query your scans from Claude or any MCP client. It is built for teams who want all seven engines and the generated fixes at a transparent, per-account price.
- Best for: a team or agency that wants Claude and Grok watched daily next to ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini and Google’s AI answers, several brands under one account on Pro or Max, and the fixes and articles written for it.
- What it costs: $39, $119 or $399 a month for 10, 30 or 90 prompts, every plan on the same seven engines; Starter covers 1 brand, Pro 3 and Max 10 (cituna.com/pricing).
- Where it falls short against the Toolkit: Starter checks 10 prompts a day, fewer than the Toolkit’s 25 per domain, and Cituna does not track Microsoft Copilot. It is not an SEO suite, so there is no keyword rank tracking or backlink data, and the 3-day trial asks for a card up front.
2. Ahrefs Brand Radar (best for market-wide AI mention research next to Ahrefs data)
If your team already works in Ahrefs, Brand Radar puts AI-mention data next to the link and keyword research you use. Ahrefs Brand Radar sells its AI Visibility Index, a large set of prompts drawn from search demand, at $199/mo per AI platform or $699/mo for all of them, and Custom Prompts for your own buyer questions start at $50/mo (read September 25, 2026). In the index, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini and Copilot data refreshes monthly, while Google AI Overviews and AI Mode update continuously.
- Best for: research on how often a category’s brands appear in AI answers, run by a team that lives in Ahrefs.
- What it costs: $199 or $699 a month for the index, plus Custom Prompts from $50.
- Where it falls short: monthly refresh for the chatbot engines in the index, Claude only through Custom Prompts at eight checks per update, and no Grok at any tier. More in our Ahrefs Brand Radar alternatives.
3. SE Ranking (best for a suite with more daily AI prompts per plan)
SE Ranking is another SEO suite, with AI tracking inside the plan rather than sold per domain. SE Ranking’s Core plan, $129/mo billed monthly or $103.20/mo billed annually, tracks 100 prompts a day on Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity, with source analysis, AI competitor data and MCP access, alongside rank tracking, audits and backlink research. SE Visible, its standalone AI dashboard, sells from $99/mo for 200 prompts on the same five engines with a 10-day free trial (seranking.com and visible.seranking.com, read September 25, 2026).
- Best for: a team leaving Semrush that still wants a full SEO suite, and four times the Toolkit’s daily prompt count on the entry plan.
- What it costs: $129 a month for Core; the AI Search add-on starts at $89 a month for 200 more prompts.
- Where it falls short: no Claude, Grok or Microsoft Copilot, and you are still buying a suite to get the AI view. See our SE Ranking AI tracker alternatives.
4. Otterly.ai (best when Microsoft Copilot matters more than Claude)
Otterly is a light, dedicated monitor that covers Microsoft Copilot at entry. Otterly’s Lite plan is $29/mo for 15 prompts checked daily on ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Copilot, with unlimited team members. On Otterly, Gemini and Google AI Mode are $9 add-ons each, Claude is a $29 add-on, and Grok is not offered (read October 1, 2026). For a solo marketer who wants a low line item and Copilot coverage, it is a fair pick.
- Best for: a small team whose buyers use Microsoft Copilot.
- What it costs: $29, $189 or $489 a month.
- Where it falls short: 15 prompts on Lite, fewer than the Toolkit’s 25; add-on fees for three engines; no Grok and no generated fixes.
5. Peec AI (best for sentiment and competitor reporting)
Peec AI is built for brand and marketing teams that report how a brand is described, not only whether it appears. Peec AI’s Starter is $95/mo, or $80/mo billed annually, for 50 prompts on three models you pick from ChatGPT, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews, Microsoft Copilot, Gemini and Naver AI, with unlimited users. Peec AI’s Pro at $245 and Advanced at $495 raise the prompt count to 150 and 350, and Claude and Grok sit on the Enterprise plan (read October 1, 2026). Peec AI’s pricing page offers a free trial without stating its length or whether a card is needed (read October 9, 2026).
- Best for: a marketing team that shares tone and competitor share with leadership and wants every colleague in the tool.
- What it costs: $95, $245 or $495 a month; Enterprise is custom.
- Where it falls short: three engines per plan below Enterprise, and Claude and Grok only on Enterprise. See Cituna vs Peec AI.
6. Scrunch AI (best for an enterprise platform with a published first plan)
Scrunch AI sells to enterprise brands but publishes a first plan you can start on. Scrunch AI’s Core is $250/mo for 125 prompts and 5,000 responses on ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Microsoft Copilot, with five site audits a month, one brand, five users and a 7-day free trial. Claude, Gemini, Meta AI, Google AI Mode, Grok, the API and single sign-on are on its custom Enterprise plan (read October 1, 2026).
- Best for: an enterprise team that wants to test a dedicated platform before signing a contract.
- What it costs: $250 a month for Core; Enterprise is custom.
- Where it falls short: one brand on Core, and most engines past the first four, Gemini included, need the Enterprise contract.
7. AthenaHQ (best for a free tier, then eleven models)
AthenaHQ lets you start without paying. AthenaHQ’s Essential tier is free, with 300 credits, one per AI response, on ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Gemini and Microsoft Copilot. AthenaHQ’s Starter, at $295/mo, gives 3,600 credits across eleven models, adding Google AI Mode, Claude, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral, and connects GA4 and Google Search Console (read October 1, 2026).
- Best for: a mid-market team that wants to try for free, then cover many models on one published plan.
- What it costs: AthenaHQ is free on Essential and $295 a month on Starter; Enterprise is custom.
- Where it falls short: credits count responses, so each model you add shrinks your prompt budget, and API access costs extra.
8. Profound (best for prompt-volume data on a contract)
Profound is an AI visibility platform sold to enterprises. Profound’s pricing page offers a free 7-day trial of 50 prompts a day on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, from a prompt set picked for your industry, then a custom Enterprise contract whose engine list adds Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Microsoft Copilot, Claude, DeepSeek and Exa Search (read October 1, 2026). What sets it apart is prompt volume: estimates of how often a question is asked.
- Best for: an enterprise brand used to annual contracts that wants demand data with its tracking.
- What it costs: Enterprise pricing on request; no price is published for brands.
- Where it falls short: no published price, three engines on the trial, and no Grok. See our Profound alternatives.
Which Semrush AI Toolkit alternative fits you
- You want all seven engines, Claude and Grok included, checked daily, several brands on one account (3 on the $119 Pro plan, 10 on the $399 Max), and the fixes and articles done: Cituna.
- You want to stay on an SEO suite: SE Ranking for 100 daily prompts on its Core plan, or Ahrefs Brand Radar if you already work in Ahrefs and want market-wide research.
- Your buyers use Microsoft Copilot: Otterly.ai at $29, Scrunch AI on its $250 Core plan, or AthenaHQ from its free tier.
- You report sentiment to leadership: Peec AI.
- You buy on enterprise contracts: Profound for prompt-volume data, Scrunch AI to trial first.
- Your SEO already lives in Semrush and four engines cover your buyers: keep the AI Toolkit; one login is worth something.
How to switch from the Semrush AI Toolkit
Moving to Cituna takes about an afternoon, and you can run both in parallel while you compare:
- Export your prompts and tracked keywords. Pull the custom prompts and the keywords or topics you already monitor in Semrush so your buyer-question list is in one place.
- Recreate them in Cituna. Add your domain and paste the prompts in during onboarding. There is no per-domain surcharge, so multi-brand teams add brands under one account, up to 10 on Max.
- Run your first scan. Cituna checks the prompts across all seven engines and returns your AI-citation score, the exact query-by-engine gaps, and the schema, FAQ markup, llms.txt and content fixes to close them.
- Connect Google Search Console. Link GSC to tie the AI work back to real clicks and impressions, the proof step the AI Toolkit keeps in the wider Semrush suite rather than in the tool itself.
The fastest way to decide is to run a scan on your own domain and look at the gaps side by side. For the wider field of tools, see our rundown of the best AI visibility tools.
Drafted with AI assistance from our own research and Search Console data, and reviewed by Rahul A before publishing. Rules and prices change; check the linked official source before you act.