Skip to main content
Compare12 min read

9 Best Surfer AI Tracker Alternatives in 2026

Surfer sells its AI Tracker inside a content suite, from $82 a month billed yearly, and does not track Claude or Grok. Nine alternatives compared on engines, refresh, price and how you start, with every rival fact dated. Cituna checks seven AI engines daily and writes the fixes from $39 a month.

Published

Surfer is a content optimization suite that added an AI Tracker to most of its plans. Which alternative fits depends on whether you came for the editor or for the tracking. Below we compare nine tools on engines, refresh, price and how you start, with Surfer’s tracker as the baseline.

Fair-comparison note:

We build Cituna, one of the alternatives below. Every rival figure comes from that vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown, and where a page is silent we say so. Tell us if anything is out of date.

What Surfer’s AI Tracker includes

Surfer is a content optimization suite: an editor that scores drafts against the pages that rank, plus audits, topical maps and internal linking. The AI Tracker sits on most of Surfer’s plans rather than being sold as a separate product. Surfer’s pricing page, read on October 9, 2026, shows these plans, each priced per month and billed yearly:

  • Discovery, $49: 120 documents and 10 tracked pages, but no AI prompts. It is a content plan only.
  • AI Search Analytics, $82: 50 prompts refreshed daily, five brand spaces, mention-gap and sentiment reports, and MCP access. No documents.
  • Standard, $99: 25 prompts refreshed weekly, tracked on ChatGPT only, with 360 documents and the content tools.
  • Pro, $182: 50 prompts refreshed daily across all five engines, 360 documents, five brand spaces and MCP.
  • Peace of Mind, $299: 100 prompts refreshed daily, unlimited documents and brand spaces under a fair-use policy, and API access.

Outside Standard, the tracker checks ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews and Gemini at once. Claude and Grok are not on the tracker’s list at any tier, although Surfer’s site header names Claude among the places it helps you grow visibility. The plan cards show yearly prices, and the FAQ says the annual plan is paid upfront and saves up to 17% against monthly billing, without printing the monthly figures. Surfer’s help docs put AI Search Analytics at $95 a month billed monthly against $82 billed yearly (October 9, 2026). The pricing page does not state a trial length; its buttons read “Start for Free”.

Why teams look elsewhere

The tracker is a reasonable add-on for a team that already writes in Surfer. Teams that came for the tracking alone tend to leave for one of three reasons:

  • Missing engines. If buyers in your market ask Claude or Grok, Surfer cannot show you those answers.
  • The cheap content tier is thin on tracking. Standard pairs 360 documents with 25 prompts on ChatGPT only, refreshed weekly. Daily, five-engine tracking with documents starts at $182.
  • Reports without the fix. The tracker reports visibility, mention gaps and sentiment. Turning a lost answer into a schema change, an FAQ or a new page is still your work, inside Surfer’s editor.

How we chose these nine

  1. It records what AI engines say about you. Each entry checks prompts you choose and logs whether answers name or cite your brand. Pure content optimizers without their own tracker are left out.
  2. It publishes a price. Each entry has a plan you can buy without a sales call, so the comparison has a number in it.
  3. Every fact carries a date. Surfer, Wellows and Rankability were read on their pricing pages on October 9, 2026. Otterly.ai’s Lite plan and LLMrefs were read on October 7, Peec AI’s sentiment reporting on October 5 and its trial on October 9, and Peec AI’s plans, Promptwatch and AthenaHQ on October 1, 2026. SE Ranking and SE Visible were read on September 25, 2026.

Cituna is first because it is ours. The rest follow by entry price, lowest first. The numbers help you find an entry; they are not a score.

Surfer AI Tracker alternatives at a glance

Surfer AI Tracker alternatives by engines, Claude and Grok, refresh, price and how you start, October 2026
#ToolBest forAI engines on the entry planClaude and GrokRefreshEntry priceHow you start
1CitunaSeven engines daily, with the fixes written7BothDaily$39/mo (10 prompts)3-day trial, card required
2Otterly.aiMicrosoft Copilot on a short prompt list4, others as add-onsClaude as an add-on; no GrokDailyOtterly.ai $29/mo (15 prompts)Free trial, length not stated
3WellowsOne answer balance across unlimited projects5NeitherDaily or weekly, your choiceWellows $29/mo (1,800 answers)7-day trial
4LLMrefsEleven engines on one flat fee11BothWeeklyLLMrefs $79/mo (500 prompts)7-day trial
5Peec AISentiment and competitor dashboards3 you chooseEnterprise onlyDailyPeec AI $95/mo, $80 billed annually (50 prompts)Free trial, length not stated
6PromptwatchChoosing your own four models, with MCP and API4 you chooseEither, as picksDailyPromptwatch $95/mo (50 prompts)7-day trial
7RankabilityAgencies pairing content projects with AI tracking11BothDailyRankability $97/mo (100 AI queries)Self-serve signup
8SE VisibleTeams already working in SE Ranking5NeitherDailySE Visible $99/mo (200 prompts)10-day trial
9AthenaHQA free tier, then a credit plan5 free, 11 paidBoth, on paidCredits$0, then AthenaHQ $295/moFree tier
Surfer AI Tracker (baseline)Teams that already write in SurferChatGPT on Standard; 5 on the other tracking plansNeitherWeekly on Standard; daily on the othersSurfer $82/mo billed yearly, $95/mo billed monthly (tracking only); $99/mo billed yearly with contentTrial length not stated

Monthly billing unless the cell says otherwise. Surfer, Wellows and Rankability from their pricing pages, October 9, 2026; SE Visible from visible.seranking.com, September 25, 2026. Cituna from cituna.com/pricing. Others on the dates in the method above. Cituna does not track Microsoft Copilot, Meta AI, DeepSeek or Brave AI. Pricing in this category changes often; check before you buy.

The 9 best Surfer AI Tracker alternatives in detail

1. Cituna (best for seven engines daily, with the fixes written)

Cituna is an AI visibility tracker that also writes the fix. Every day, on every plan, it asks ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode the questions your buyers ask, and records whether each answer names you, your place among the brands listed, which of your pages it cites and which competitors it recommends. Where a rival wins the answer, Cituna generates the change that targets it: schema, FAQs or an llms.txt entry. For questions your site has no page for, AutoSEO writes 30 articles a month on Starter, held as drafts until you approve them. A built-in Search Console connection checks each change against real clicks, API keys come with every paid plan, and MCP read access comes with Starter and MCP write access with Pro.

  • Best for: a brand or small team that wants Claude and Grok next to the Google and OpenAI engines, checked daily, with the work after the report done for it.
  • What it costs: Starter $39 a month (one brand, 10 prompts), Pro $119 (three brands, 30 prompts, five seats, keyword and SERP-rank data, shareable reports), Max $399 (ten brands, 90 prompts, 15 seats). Every tier is on the pricing page.
  • Where it falls short against Surfer: Cituna has no content editor that scores drafts, no topical maps and no internal-linking tool, and it does not score sentiment. Starter tracks 10 prompts on seven engines; Surfer’s $82 tracking plan, billed yearly, covers 50 on five. Keyword and SERP-rank data start on Pro, not Starter.

2. Otterly.ai (best for Microsoft Copilot on a short prompt list)

Otterly.ai’s Lite plan costs $29 a month for 15 prompts checked daily on ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot, with no limit on team members (otterly.ai/pricing, October 7, 2026). On October 1, 2026, Otterly.ai sold Gemini and Google AI Mode as $9-a-month add-ons on Lite and Claude as a $29 add-on; Grok was not offered. Otterly.ai’s API and MCP access begin on the $189 Standard plan.

  • Best for: a solo marketer whose buyers use Copilot, a surface Surfer does not track.
  • What it costs: Otterly.ai is $29, $189 or $489 a month.
  • Where it falls short: each extra engine is another line on the bill, no Grok at any price, and it reports without writing fixes or content. More options in our Otterly alternatives.

3. Wellows (best for one answer balance across unlimited projects)

Wellows sells a monthly balance of AI answers instead of a prompt cap: one prompt asked on one engine on one day spends one answer. Wellows’ Basic plan is $29 a month for 1,800 answers, which Wellows sizes at about 12 prompts on all five engines every day; Wellows’ Standard is $97 for 6,500, Growth $249 for 18,000 and Scale $497 for 36,000. Projects, prompts and seats are unlimited on every plan, and each plan carries a 7-day free trial. The five engines are ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode. Wellows tracks both named mentions and citations of your domain, reports sentiment, ranks quick wins, and includes a writing agent, outreach targets and Search Console; white-label client dashboards are listed on the Growth plan card (wellows.com/pricing, October 9, 2026).

  • Best for: a team that wants Surfer’s five engines on monthly billing, with the freedom to spread one budget across several sites or clients.
  • What it costs: Wellows is $29, $97, $249 or $497 a month; custom above that.
  • Where it falls short: the same five engines as Surfer, so still no Claude or Grok, and when the balance runs out mid-month collection pauses until the billing date, with no rollover of unused answers. See our Wellows alternatives.

4. LLMrefs (best for eleven engines on one flat fee)

LLMrefs has one All in One plan: $79 a month on October 7, 2026, marked as a limited-time price, for 500 prompts across eleven engines, Claude, Grok, Microsoft Copilot, Meta AI and DeepSeek among them. LLMrefs includes unlimited seats and projects, CSV export, an API, targeting in more than 50 countries and a 7-day trial (llmrefs.com/pricing).

  • Best for: a team that wants a long engine list on one flat monthly fee and does not need content tools.
  • What it costs: LLMrefs is $79 a month.
  • Where it falls short: prompts refresh weekly, slower than Surfer’s daily refresh on Pro, and it reports rankings without suggesting fixes. See our LLMrefs alternatives.

5. Peec AI (best for sentiment and competitor dashboards)

Peec AI reports visibility, position, sentiment and share of voice each day against the competitors you name (read October 5, 2026). Peec AI’s Starter plan is $95 a month, or $80 billed annually, for 50 prompts on three models you pick from ChatGPT, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews, Microsoft Copilot, Gemini and Naver AI, with unlimited users. Peec AI’s Pro at $245 and Advanced at $495 lift the prompt count to 150 and 350, and its pricing page offers a free trial, length not stated (peec.ai/pricing, October 1 and 9, 2026).

  • Best for: a marketing team that presents tone and competitor share to leadership and wants monthly billing.
  • What it costs: Peec AI is $95, $245 or $495 a month; Enterprise is quoted.
  • Where it falls short: three models on each self-serve plan, so fewer engines at once than Surfer’s Pro, and Claude and Grok only on Peec AI’s Enterprise plan. See our Peec AI alternatives.

6. Promptwatch (best for choosing your own four models)

Promptwatch’s Essential plan is $95 a month for 50 prompts and 6,000 responses on four models you choose from OpenAI, Perplexity, Google, Claude, Gemini, Meta, DeepSeek and Grok, checked daily, with MCP and API access and a 7-day trial. Promptwatch’s Professional plan, at $245, raises the count to 150 prompts and adds AI crawler logs and five articles a month (promptwatch.com/pricing, October 1, 2026).

  • Best for: a technical team that wants an API at entry, where Surfer keeps API access for its $299 tier.
  • What it costs: Promptwatch is $95, $245 or $579 a month; the $579 plan is sold through a demo.
  • Where it falls short: four models at a time on Essential, so adding Claude or Grok means dropping another engine, and articles only from Professional. See our Promptwatch alternatives.

7. Rankability (best for agencies pairing content projects with AI tracking)

Rankability is the closest like-for-like swap: it also pairs content work with AI tracking, but prices both for agencies. Rankability’s Starter is $97 a month, or $970 a year, with 100 tracked AI queries, 20 content projects, 50 Google keywords, 10 Local Pack scans, unlimited client workspaces and team members, and API and MCP access. Every Rankability plan monitors 11 platforms daily: ChatGPT, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews, Claude, Perplexity, Gemini, Grok, Microsoft Copilot, Brave AI, DeepSeek and Meta AI. Rankability’s Agency plan is $297 and Agency Pro $497 (rankability.com/pricing, October 9, 2026).

  • Best for: an agency that likes Surfer’s content side but needs more engines and client reporting under one login.
  • What it costs: Rankability is $97, $297 or $497 a month, or ten months’ price when paid yearly.
  • Where it falls short: a large first plan for an in-house team tracking one brand, since workspaces, Local Pack scans and branded client reports are built for agencies. Compare the options in our Rankability alternatives.

8. SE Visible (best for teams already working in SE Ranking)

SE Visible is SE Ranking’s standalone AI-visibility dashboard. SE Visible starts at $99 a month for 200 prompts and three projects, tracks Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity daily, and has a 10-day free trial. Inside the SE Ranking suite, SE Ranking’s Core plan at $129 a month billed monthly includes 100 daily AI prompts on the same engines, with MCP access, next to rank tracking, audits and backlinks (seranking.com and visible.seranking.com, September 25, 2026).

  • Best for: a team moving from one SEO suite to another, or one that wants a large prompt count on Surfer’s engine set.
  • What it costs: SE Visible from $99 a month; SE Ranking Core $129 a month billed monthly.
  • Where it falls short: the same five engines as Surfer, with Claude listed as coming soon on September 25, 2026, and no Grok or Copilot. Read our SE Ranking AI tracker alternatives.

9. AthenaHQ (best for a free tier, then a credit plan)

AthenaHQ bills in credits, one per AI response. AthenaHQ’s free Essential tier gives 300 credits on ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Gemini and Microsoft Copilot. AthenaHQ’s Starter at $295 a month buys 3,600 credits across eleven named models, adding Google AI Mode, Claude, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral, and connects GA4 and Search Console (athenahq.ai/plans, October 1, 2026).

  • Best for: a team that wants to look at its AI answers for free before it buys anything.
  • What it costs: AthenaHQ is free, then $295 a month (17% less billed annually); Enterprise is custom.
  • Where it falls short: one credit pool feeds every model, so more engines means fewer checks per engine, and AthenaHQ’s first paid plan costs more than any Surfer tier. See our AthenaHQ alternatives.

Which Surfer AI Tracker alternative fits you

Start with the editor. If your writers live in Surfer’s Content Editor and the tracker is a side view, staying on Pro may be the simplest answer, and Rankability is the comparison worth running. If you bought Surfer for the tracker, the question is which engines your buyers use and whether you want the fixes done for you.

For Claude and Grok checked daily, with the fixes and articles written, Cituna. For eleven engines on a weekly refresh, LLMrefs. For Copilot, Otterly.ai or Peec AI. For Surfer’s own five engines across many projects, Wellows or SE Visible. To choose your own four models with an API, Promptwatch.

A quick test: take 20 questions your buyers ask, run them on two trials for three days, and compare the raw answers rather than the scores. Which brands were named, which pages were cited, and what would each tool have you change first?

Drafted with AI assistance from our own research and Search Console data, and reviewed by Rahul A before publishing. Rules and prices change; check the linked official source before you act.

Frequently asked questions

Does Surfer’s AI Tracker track Claude or Grok?

No. On October 9, 2026, Surfer’s pricing page listed ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews and Gemini for the tracker, with ChatGPT alone on the Standard plan. Among the alternatives here, Cituna, LLMrefs, Rankability, AthenaHQ’s paid plan and Promptwatch (as two of your four picks) check Claude and Grok.

How much does Surfer’s AI Tracker cost?

Surfer shows its plans billed yearly: AI Search Analytics at $82 a month ($95 billed monthly, per Surfer’s help docs) for 50 daily prompts without documents, Standard at $99 for 25 weekly prompts on ChatGPT with 360 documents, Pro at $182 for 50 daily prompts on five engines, and Peace of Mind at $299 for 100 daily prompts with API access. Surfer’s $49 Discovery plan has no AI prompts (surferseo.com/pricing, October 9, 2026).

What is the cheapest alternative to Surfer’s AI Tracker?

The lowest sticker prices here are Otterly.ai’s Lite and Wellows’ Basic, both $29 a month, and AthenaHQ has a free tier. Among the tools that check Claude and Grok every day, the lowest monthly price is Cituna’s Starter at $39, billed monthly, with the fixes written for you.

What is the best Surfer AI Tracker alternative?

For a team whose buyers ask Claude or Grok, Cituna, from $39 a month: it checks ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode every day and writes the fix for each answer that names a rival. For content projects and AI tracking together, Rankability at $97 a month. For eleven engines on one flat fee with a weekly refresh, LLMrefs at $79 a month.

Try Cituna on your own buyer questions

Compare brand mentions, cited sources and competitors across seven AI engines. Turn the gaps you find into prioritized SEO, AEO and GEO fixes.

Start free trial

3-day free trial · Card required, cancel anytime · Plans from $39 a month

Check crawler readiness free