Rankability sits between a content optimizer and an AI visibility tracker, and prices both for agencies. Which alternative fits depends on which half you use. Below we compare nine tools on engines, refresh, price and how you start, with Rankability as the baseline.
Fair-comparison note:
What Rankability sells, and why teams compare it
Rankability calls itself an AI search visibility platform for agencies. Its pricing page, read on October 9, 2026, lists three self-serve plans, each with unlimited client workspaces, unlimited team members, API and MCP access, and the same 11 AI platforms:
- Starter: $97 a month, or $970 a year. 20 content projects a month, 100 tracked AI queries, 50 Google keywords, 10 Local Pack scans, 20 page audits and 2 site audits, with branded reports and client approvals.
- Agency: $297 a month, or $2,970 a year. 80 content projects, 300 tracked AI queries, 150 Google keywords, 30 Local Pack scans, 80 page audits and 10 site audits, with priority technical support and one team onboarding session.
- Agency Pro: $497 a month, or $4,970 a year. 160 content projects, 500 tracked AI queries, 250 Google keywords, 50 Local Pack scans, 160 page audits and 25 site audits, with onboarding and campaign planning, and coaching on annual plans.
The 11 platforms are ChatGPT, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews, Claude, Perplexity, Gemini, Grok, Microsoft Copilot, Brave AI, DeepSeek and Meta AI, with daily monitoring across the ones you select. A content project is one new page or one refresh of an existing page, with research, a brief, an outline, an AI-assisted draft and optimization guidance. Allowances are shared across all clients, and an enterprise package is sold through a sales call. Rankability’s page also says existing paying customers keep their legacy price, so a quote you saw before October may not match.
Why teams look elsewhere
That is a lot of product for an agency running client campaigns. Teams look elsewhere for three reasons:
- They track one brand, not twenty clients. Unlimited workspaces and Local Pack scans are worth little to an in-house team, and the plans are priced for agencies.
- They already have a content tool. If Surfer, Clearscope or a writer team does the content, they are paying for content projects twice.
- They want the content work deeper, or the tracking alone. Some teams want a dedicated optimizer with AI tracking added; others want a pure tracker at a lower first bill.
How we chose these nine
- It either tracks AI answers or pairs content optimization with AI tracking. Every entry records whether engines mention or cite your brand for prompts or queries you choose. Two entries, Surfer and Clearscope, are content optimizers first, included because Rankability’s buyers weigh the content side as heavily as the tracking.
- It publishes a price. Each entry lists a plan you can buy without a demo or sales call.
- Every fact is dated. Rankability, Surfer and Clearscope were read on their pricing pages on October 9, 2026. Otterly.ai’s Lite plan and LLMrefs were read on October 7, Peec AI’s sentiment reporting on October 5, and Peec AI’s plans, Promptwatch, Scrunch AI and AthenaHQ on October 1, 2026, each from its pricing page, unless a different date is given beside the fact.
Cituna comes first because it is ours. The pure trackers follow by entry price, then the two content optimizers, then the platforms priced for larger teams. The numbers help you find an entry; they are not a ranking.
Rankability alternatives at a glance
| # | Tool | Best for | Kind | AI engines on the entry plan | Refresh | Entry price | How you start |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cituna | Seven engines daily, with the fixes written | Tracker with fixes and articles | 7, Claude and Grok included | Daily | $39/mo (10 prompts) | 3-day trial, card required |
| 2 | Otterly.ai | Microsoft Copilot on a small prompt set | Tracker | 4, others as add-ons | Daily | Otterly.ai $29/mo (15 prompts) | Free trial, length not stated |
| 3 | LLMrefs | Eleven engines on one flat fee | Tracker | 11 | Weekly | LLMrefs $79/mo (500 prompts) | 7-day trial |
| 4 | Peec AI | Sentiment and competitor dashboards | Tracker | 3 you choose | Daily | Peec AI $95/mo, $80 billed annually | Free trial, length not stated |
| 5 | Promptwatch | Choosing your own four models, with MCP and API | Tracker | 4 you choose | Daily | Promptwatch $95/mo (50 prompts) | 7-day trial |
| 6 | Surfer | A content optimizer with an AI tracker added | Content suite plus tracker | 5 on AI Search Analytics and Pro; ChatGPT only on Standard | Daily; weekly on Standard | Surfer $82/mo billed yearly (tracking only, 50 prompts); $99/mo billed yearly with content | Not stated on pricing page |
| 7 | Clearscope | Content briefs with AI query tracking | Content optimizer | 2 (ChatGPT and Gemini) | Not stated | Clearscope $129/mo (50 tracked queries) | 14-day trial |
| 8 | Scrunch AI | An enterprise platform with a self-serve start | Tracker | 4 | Daily | Scrunch AI $250/mo (125 prompts) | 7-day trial |
| 9 | AthenaHQ | A free tier, then a credit plan | Tracker | 5 free, 11 paid | Credits | $0, then AthenaHQ $295/mo | Free tier |
| Rankability (baseline) | Agencies running content and tracking for many clients | Content suite plus tracker | 11 | Daily | Rankability $97/mo (100 AI queries, 20 content projects) | Self-serve signup |
Monthly billing unless stated. Rankability, Surfer and Clearscope from each vendor’s pricing page, October 9, 2026; Surfer’s page shows yearly billing only. Cituna from cituna.com/pricing. Others from each vendor’s pricing page on the dates in the method above. Cituna does not track Microsoft Copilot, Meta AI, DeepSeek or Brave AI. Pricing in this category changes often; check before you buy.
The 9 best Rankability alternatives in detail
1. Cituna (best for seven engines daily, with the fixes written)
Cituna asks ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode your buyers’ questions every day, on every plan, and records whether each answer names you, where you sit among the brands it lists, which of your pages it cites and which rivals it recommends. Where a rival wins, Cituna writes the fix: schema, FAQs or an llms.txt entry. That is the content-plus-tracking split Rankability sells to agencies, cut down to what one brand needs: AutoSEO writes 30 articles a month on Starter for the questions your site has no page for, held as drafts by default, and the built-in Search Console connection checks each change against real clicks. API keys work on every paid plan; MCP read access comes with Starter and MCP write access with Pro.
- Best for: a brand, startup or small team that wants every major engine covered daily, Grok included, and the fixes written, without paying for an agency workflow.
- What it costs: Starter $39 a month (one brand, 10 prompts), Pro $119 (three brands, 30 prompts, five seats, shareable reports), Max $399 (ten brands, 90 prompts, 15 seats). Every tier is on the pricing page.
- Where it falls short against Rankability: Rankability tracks four engines Cituna does not (Microsoft Copilot, DeepSeek, Brave AI and Meta AI), its $97 plan covers 100 AI queries against Cituna’s 10 prompts on Starter, and it adds Google rank tracking from its first plan (Cituna’s keyword and SERP-rank data starts on Pro), Local Pack scans, unlimited client workspaces and agency-branded client reports, which Cituna does not offer.
2. Otterly.ai (best for Microsoft Copilot on a small budget)
Otterly.ai’s Lite plan is $29 a month for 15 prompts tracked daily on ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot, with unlimited team members (otterly.ai/pricing, October 7, 2026). On October 1, 2026, Otterly.ai sold Gemini and Google AI Mode as $9-a-month add-ons on Lite and Claude as a $29 add-on; Grok is not sold. Otterly.ai’s API and MCP access start on the $189 Standard plan.
- Best for: a solo marketer whose buyers use Copilot and who needs a small set of prompts watched.
- What it costs: Otterly.ai is $29, $189 or $489 a month.
- Where it falls short: there is no content side at all, each extra engine is a separate charge, and no fixes are written for you. See our Otterly alternatives.
3. LLMrefs (best for eleven engines on one flat fee)
LLMrefs sells one All in One plan, $79 a month on October 7, 2026 and marked as a limited-time price, for 500 prompts across eleven engines including Claude, Grok, Microsoft Copilot, Meta AI and DeepSeek, with unlimited seats and projects, CSV export, an API, targeting in more than 50 countries and a 7-day trial (llmrefs.com/pricing).
- Best for: a team that wants engine breadth close to Rankability’s on a flat fee, and no content tools.
- What it costs: LLMrefs is $79 a month.
- Where it falls short: prompts refresh weekly rather than daily, and it reports positions without writing content or fixes. See our LLMrefs alternatives.
4. Peec AI (best for sentiment and competitor dashboards)
Peec AI tracks visibility, position, sentiment and share of voice daily against named competitors (read October 5, 2026). Peec AI’s Starter is $95 a month, or $80 billed annually, for 50 prompts on three models you pick from ChatGPT, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews, Microsoft Copilot, Gemini and Naver AI, with unlimited users. Peec AI’s Pro at $245 and Advanced at $495 raise the prompt count to 150 and 350, and its pricing page offers a free trial, length not stated (peec.ai/pricing, October 1 and 9, 2026).
- Best for: a brand team that reports tone and competitor benchmarks to leadership.
- What it costs: Peec AI is $95, $245 or $495 a month; Enterprise is custom.
- Where it falls short: three models per self-serve plan, with Claude and Grok held for Peec AI’s Enterprise plan, and no content workflow. See our Peec AI alternatives.
5. Promptwatch (best for choosing your own four models)
Promptwatch’s Essential plan is $95 a month for 50 prompts and 6,000 responses on four models you choose from OpenAI, Perplexity, Google, Claude, Gemini, Meta, DeepSeek and Grok, tracked daily, with MCP and API access and a 7-day trial. Promptwatch’s Professional plan at $245 moves to 150 prompts and adds AI crawler logs and five articles a month (promptwatch.com/pricing, October 1, 2026).
- Best for: a technical team that liked Rankability’s MCP and API access and wants it on a tracker-only plan.
- What it costs: Promptwatch is $95, $245 or $579 a month; the $579 plan is sold by demo.
- Where it falls short: four models at a time on Essential, and articles only from Professional, at five a month against Rankability’s 20 content projects on Starter. See our Promptwatch alternatives.
6. Surfer (best for a content optimizer with an AI tracker added)
Surfer is a content optimizer whose plans now include an AI Tracker beside its document editor. On October 9, 2026, Surfer’s pricing page showed yearly billing only: AI Search Analytics at $82 a month tracks 50 prompts daily with no documents, Standard at $99 a month tracks 25 prompts on ChatGPT only, refreshed weekly, with 360 documents, Pro at $182 tracks 50 prompts daily with 360 documents and five brand spaces, and Peace of Mind at $299 tracks 100 prompts daily with unlimited documents and API access (surferseo.com/pricing). Above Standard, Surfer tracks ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews and Gemini, and reports a mention gap and brand sentiment.
- Best for: a content team that already writes in Surfer and wants AI tracking next to its editor, the closest match to Rankability’s content side.
- What it costs: Surfer is $82, $99, $182 or $299 a month billed yearly; Enterprise is custom.
- Where it falls short: the Standard plan, the cheapest with documents and tracking together, covers ChatGPT alone on a weekly refresh, and Claude and Grok are not on its engine list at any tier.
7. Clearscope (best for content briefs with AI query tracking)
Clearscope builds content briefs and grades drafts, and now tracks queries in AI answers. Clearscope’s Essentials plan is $129 a month for 50 tracked queries, 50 monitored pages, 20 topic explorations and 20 drafts a month; Business at $399 a month moves to 300 tracked queries, 300 pages and 50 explorations with a dedicated account manager, and Enterprise is custom. Clearscope tracks the queries you set on ChatGPT and Gemini, shows the background searches AI platforms run when they compose an answer, includes unlimited users and offers a 14-day free trial (clearscope.io/pricing, October 9, 2026).
- Best for: an editorial team whose main job is better briefs and drafts, with a view of what ChatGPT and Gemini say for its chosen queries.
- What it costs: Clearscope is $129 or $399 a month; Enterprise is custom.
- Where it falls short: two AI engines named against Rankability’s 11, Perplexity, Claude and Grok among those missing, and the pricing page does not say how often queries refresh.
8. Scrunch AI (best for an enterprise platform with a self-serve start)
Scrunch AI’s Core plan costs $250 a month for 125 prompts and 5,000 responses on ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Microsoft Copilot, with five site audits a month, one brand, five users, AI bot traffic reporting and a 7-day trial. Scrunch AI keeps Claude, Gemini, Google AI Mode, Meta AI, Grok, the API and single sign-on on its custom Enterprise plan (scrunch.com/pricing, October 1, 2026).
- Best for: an enterprise team that wants to start small on a platform it can grow into.
- What it costs: Scrunch AI’s Core is $250 a month; Enterprise is custom.
- Where it falls short: one brand on Core, so it is not an agency tool at that price, and most engines past the first four need Enterprise. See our Scrunch AI alternatives.
9. AthenaHQ (best for a free tier, then a credit plan)
AthenaHQ charges in credits, one per AI response. AthenaHQ’s free Essential tier gives 300 credits on ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Gemini and Microsoft Copilot. AthenaHQ’s Starter at $295 a month buys 3,600 credits across eleven named models, adding Google AI Mode, Claude, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral, and connects GA4 and Search Console (athenahq.ai/plans, October 1, 2026).
- Best for: a team that wants a free look first, then engine coverage as wide as Rankability’s.
- What it costs: AthenaHQ is free, then $295 a month (17% less billed annually); Enterprise is custom.
- Where it falls short: every model draws on one credit pool, so wider coverage buys fewer checks per model, and it has no content workflow on the scale of Rankability’s. See our AthenaHQ alternatives.
Which Rankability alternative fits you
Start by splitting what Rankability bundles. If you run an agency and use the content projects, the rank tracking and the client reports, the bundle is the point, and the honest comparison is Rankability against Surfer plus a tracker. If you track one brand, decide which half you need.
For the tracking half: Cituna if you want seven engines daily, Claude and Grok included, with the fixes and articles written for you; LLMrefs for eleven engines on a weekly refresh; Otterly.ai or Peec AI if Microsoft Copilot matters more than Claude or Grok; Promptwatch if you want to choose the four models yourself. For the content half: Surfer or Clearscope, each now with some AI tracking of its own. Agencies that want AI tracking for several clients without the content suite can compare Cituna’s Pro and Max plans with our guide for agencies.
One way to test: write 20 buyer questions, run them on two trials for three days, and compare the raw answers rather than the scores. Which brands were named, which pages were cited, and what would each tool have you change?
Drafted with AI assistance from our own research and Search Console data, and reviewed by Rahul A before publishing. Rules and prices change; check the linked official source before you act.